Menu | Content | Back | News | Progression | Search | Foot page | Accessibility | Site map | Home page


                      
                      
Home « Research « Programs « Agence Nationale de la Recherche « WIsDHoM: Wealth inequalities and the dynamics of housing market. Interpreting real-estate market-based regime of spatial inequalities

ANR

WIsDHoM: Wealth inequalities and the dynamics of housing market. Interpreting real-estate market-based regime of spatial inequalities

Period: 2018 - 2021

The WIsDHoM project (Wealth inequalities and the dynamics of housing market. Interpreting real-estate market-based regime of spatial inequalities) is a research programme conducted jointly by UMR Géographie-cités (Paris), UMR ESPACE (Avignon) and Centre Max Weber (Lyon).

WIsDHoM analyzes growing socio-economic inequalities induced by property prices inflation. Housing prices have increased faster than the income of buyers in most of post-industrial city-regions. Real estate has become a major driver of these inequalities because the flows of household real estate investments are instrumental to the dynamics of asset capitalization. The team applies under the PRC instrument (CES 41, challenge B8, axe 2) and the project addresses inequalities of income and assets, combining a multidisciplinary approach (geography, planning, history, political sciences, economics) to analyze how property markets reinforces spatial and wealth inequalities. The WIsDHoM project structures a multidisciplinary research group to investigate the systemic dimension of inequalities induced by the dynamics of French housing markets and their political and financial context since the end of the 1990s.

In French metropolitan areas, the most salient dynamics for the last two decades have been a continuous and steep increase in property prices and a steady increase of homeownership, analyzed as a « resilient bubble » (Timbeau, 2013), and therefore described as a new price regime (Tutin, 2013b). The following paradox has emerged in the post-financial crisis era: while the evolution of both price to income ratio (i.e. affordability index) and rent to price ratio should discourage homebuyers and investors in metropolitan areas, housing markets have remained active and the price trend did not reverse. We assume this situation is linked to many parameters, from the national level (financial and credit affordability conditions, pro-homeownership policies, shift toward asset-based welfare) to the local level (pro-market housing policies, spatial differentiation of housing prices).

Our research question stems from this analysis: to what extent contemporary social inequality is shaped by one’s relationship to housing markets? We will examine it through three overlapping dimensions: urban policies to promote the production of residential real estate; local access and affordability to participate in that market; specific trajectories of wealth accumulated through home ownership – and its attendant effects on urban policies.

The WIsDHoM project aims to analyze the relationships between local housing prices dynamics, inequalities and housing policies. The housing prices volatiliy is dependent upon local features. Price volatility might influence the social sorting of homebuyers, the appreciation/depreciation of property values, and the real estate strategies of both private and public local actors. In turn, such parameters impact local housing markets.

This socio- spatial feedback loop is our key concern. In order to encompass the variegated socio-spatial contexts, we will draw on three case studies at three different levels of the urban hierarchy: Paris, Lyon and Avignon. A multiscalar approach, going back and forth between State policies, local governments’ policies and households’ strategies, will allow for an empirically grounded approach. The scientific program is divided up in three work packages:

  1. Characterization of the local market assemblages and housing provision policies in each of our three case studies ;
  2. The spatial analysis of the unequal structure of affordability using disaggregated spatial datasets (real estate transactions, property taxes, mortgages, land register) ;
  3. An assessment of financial accumulation or vulnerability and its effects on local market assemblages through a survey of households’ strategies (nimby, bimby, housing improvement...).

Our research team is made of leading experts of every database we will use (land registry, real estate sales, tax databases, credit databases), and of specialists of field surveys, which will allow an integrated approach that has never been achieved so far.

Updated on : 18 October 2018

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, All rights reserved

Menu | Contenu | Retour | Actualités | Progression | Rechercher | Pied de page | Accessibilité | Plan du site | Accueil


                      
                      
Accueil « Recherche « Programmes scientifiques « Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR) « WIsDHoM : Inégalités patrimoniales et dynamiques du marché du logement. Comprendre le régime d’inégalités spatiales liées au marché immobilier

ANR

WIsDHoM : Inégalités patrimoniales et dynamiques du marché du logement. Comprendre le régime d’inégalités spatiales liées au marché immobilier

Durée : 2018 - 2021

Le projet WIsDHoM (Inégalités patrimoniales et dynamiques du marché du logement. Comprendre le régime d’inégalités spatiales liées au marché immobilier) est un programme de recherche associant l’UMR Géographie-cités (Paris), l’UMR ESPACE (Avignon) et le Centre Max Weber (Lyon).

WIsDHoM analyse la croissance des inégalités socio-spatiales dues à l’inflation des prix immobiliers. Dans la majorité des villes, les prix du logement ont augmenté plus vite que les revenus. L’immobilier est ainsi devenu une composante essentielle des inégalités, les ménages concentrant toujours plus leurs investissements et leur patrimoine dans ce secteur. Le projet (ANR PRC, comité 41, challenge B8, axe 2) analyse les inégalités de revenu et de patrimoine selon une approche pluridisciplinaire (géographie, aménagement du territoire, histoire, sciences politiques, sociologie, économie) et comprendre le rôle de l’immobilier dans le renforcement des inégalités spatiales et patrimoniales. WIsDHoM réunit des experts du logement afin d’analyser le caractère systémique des inégalités liées aux dynamiques et au contexte politique et financier du marché français depuis la fin des années 1990.

Les agglomérations françaises se distinguent depuis une vingtaine d’années par une hausse durable des prix doublée d’une augmentation régulière du taux de propriétaires. Cette situation qualifiée de “bulle robuste” (Timbeau, 2013) accrédite l’idée d’un nouveau régime de prix élevés (Tutin, 2013b) susceptible d’expliquer la résilience des marchés, paradoxale au vu de la dégradation du pouvoir d’achat des ménages et de la rentabilité des logements locatifs après la crise de 2008. Ce régime articule des facteurs de différents niveaux : nationaux (conditions d’accès au crédit, incitation à l’accession à la propriété, place croissante de la propriété immobilière dans les patrimoines des ménages et comme forme de protection se substituant aux systèmes de protection sociale), et locaux (politiques de stimulation du marché et différenciation spatiale des prix de l’immobilier).

L’ambition du projet WIsDHOM consiste à saisir les interactions entre la dynamique locale des prix, les inégalités et les politiques menées. La variabilité des prix des logements, dépendant d’un certain nombre de conditions locales, détermine à la fois le tri social des propriétaires immobiliers, les conditions de (dé)valorisation du patrimoine des ménages, et les opportunités immobilières pour les acteurs locaux, publics ou privés. En retour ces éléments influencent les conditions de marché. C’est l’étude spatialisée de cet effet d’auto-renforcement qui constitue le cœur du projet.

Afin de restituer la spatialisation de ce régime d’inégalités, l’étude s’appuie sur trois cas à trois niveaux de la hiérarchie urbaine : Paris, Lyon et Avignon. L’analyse empirique consiste en une approche multiscalaire pour saisir l’articulation entre les politiques nationales, locales et les stratégies des ménages. Notre programme scientifique se décline en trois axes :

  1. Une analyse approfondie de la construction sociale des marchés locaux du logement par les acteurs publics et privés dans les trois agglomérations retenues ;
  2. L’analyse spatiale des inégalités d’accès à la pierre à partir de bases de données désagrégées (transactions immobilières, fiscalité, crédit immobilier, cadastre) ;
  3. Une enquête ménages sur les stratégies patrimoniales dans nos trois terrains, visant à mettre en évidence d’une part les formes d’enrichissement et de vulnérabilisation liées à la propriété immobilière et, d’autre part, la façon dont ces stratégies (réhabilitations de logements, bimby, nimby, etc.) peuvent avoir des répercussions sur les politiques locales de l’habitat.

L’expertise pluridisciplinaire de l’équipe en matière d’enquête et de traitement des données permettra de relever le défi de l’intégration de sources jamais traitées conjointement jusqu’ici.

Date de mise à jour : 18 octobre 2018

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, Tous droits réservés