Menu | Content | Back | News | Progression | Search | Foot page | Accessibility | Site map | Home page


                      
                      

ANR

GéoandCo

Period: 2006-2010

Following the decolonization movement, there has been an attempt to renew with criticism the historiography addressing the relations between social sciences and European imperialisms. At the end of the 1970s, E.W. Said underscored the importance of cultural domination within the imperial movement, describing imperialism as "an act of geographical violence, whereby the quasi-totality of the world space is explored, object of cartography and ultimately, annexed". This approach, which assimilates geography to an imperialist tool, eventually influenced many historians, mainly in the field of history of sciences and in the Anglo-Saxon world. In post-colonial studies, geographical science and European imperialism are therefore always considered as indissociable. These studies mainly concerned the British Empire. In the French case, one can only take note of the lack of such similar studies. The relations between social sciences and colonization have been addressed in France, but the links between geography and empire have been barely touched upon by French researchers, with some few exceptions (D. Lejeune, V. Berdoulay, O. Soubeyran). However, recent studies, emanating from a new generation of historians (H. Blais, M-A de Suremain, P. Singaravélou, I. Surun, F. Thomas) and geographers (C. d’Alessandro, F. Deprest) show a new interest in these matters. Our pluridisciplinary research group was constituted against this background.

There is no doubt the appropriation of space by geographical knowledge played a key role in the military conquest and political domination of colonized territories. This intention of domination ("divide and rule") has disqualified, as an object of epistemological reflection, the means developed to elaborate these regionalisation. However, it seems to us counter-productive to set this domination as a prerequisite for any possible knowledge on spaces. Thus, we think it might be more relevant to examine the knowledge construction process on colonial spaces, by privileging an analysis of the circulation process of concepts, methods, and modes of description and explanation - this circulation being induced by the moving of producers of knowledge (travels, missions, professional transfers) and by their networks of informal or institutional relations.

Within the timeframe of a 4-year long research project, we limited the scope of our study to French Africa and emphasized the state of knowledge concerning the limits and regions at various scales. How is the knowledge on the limitations of "large spaces "(continent, cultural area, bio-climatic region, etc) acquired, disseminated and transformed? How are the limits between Europe and Africa, "White Africa" and "Black Africa", steppes and deserts, forests and savannas, being traced? How does one elaborate the geographical knowledge on delimitations (map of tribes, atlas of soils, "recognition" of isolats, study of colonization frontier), on "ways of life", particularly with regards to the distinction between nomades and sedentary life, rural and urban populations? How did this knowledge interfere with the military or civil delimitations of territories, or with the discourse on the territorial continuity and unity of French Africa? Did this knowledge take into account socio and spatial changes generated by the colonization process?

Basing ourselves on a very diverse corpus, which includes geographical works (books, articles, atlases, memoirs, and personal archives), military archives and battle accounts, maps and pictures of colonized spaces, scientific journals, tourist guides, textbooks, we intend to put in common our working methods, analysing both texts and iconography, in order to answer these questions.

We envisage several stages for the conducting and promotion of this research: examination of sources, presentation of dossiers during an internal seminar focusing on common issues. Also, it seems necessary to set this project on French Africa in an international framework, in order to better confront our results with other researchers working in particular on other empires. These researchers would be invited in the course of our monthly seminar, of a one-day conference and of an international symposium.

Updated on : 8 June 2017

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, All rights reserved

Menu | Contenu | Retour | Actualités | Progression | Rechercher | Pied de page | Accessibilité | Plan du site | Accueil


                      
                      

ANR

GéoandCo

Durée : 2006-2010

Suite au mouvement de décolonisation, des travaux critiques ont contribué au renouvellement de l’historiographie sur les relations entre sciences sociales et impérialismes européens. A la fin des années 1970, E. W. Said a montré l’importance de la domination culturelle dans l’entreprise impériale, en qualifiant l’impérialisme " d’acte de violence géographique, par lequel la quasi-totalité de l’espace mondial est exploré, cartographié et finalement annexé ". Cette conception, assimilant la géographie à un instrument impérial, a fortement influencé toute une historiographie, notamment les historiens des sciences anglo-saxons. Dans le cadre des études post-coloniales , science géographique et impérialisme européen ont été ainsi présentés comme deux éléments indissociables . Ces études ont concerné essentiellement l’empire britannique, et l’on ne peut que constater le manque de travaux d’ampleur similaire dans le cas français. En effet, les liens entre géographie et empire restent encore peu explorés par la recherche française, à quelques exceptions près (D. Lejeune, V. Berdoulay, O. Soubeyran). Toutefois, ces questions font l’objet d’un nouvel intérêt, comme en témoignent les travaux très récents d’une nouvelle génération d’historiens (H. Blais, M. - A. de Suremain, P. Singaravélou, I. Surun, F. Thomas) et de géographes (C. d’Alessandro, F. Deprest). C’est dans ce contexte que s’est constituée notre équipe pluridisciplinaire.

Il n’est pas douteux que l’appropriation de l’espace par les savoirs géographiques a joué un rôle dans la conquête militaire et la domination politique des territoires colonisés. Cette intention de domination (" diviser pour régner ") a disqualifié l’interrogation épistémologique sur les procédures mises en oeuvre pour élaborer ces découpages. Cependant, il nous semble contre-productif d’affirmer cette domination a priori comme horizon téléologique de toutes connaissances sur l’espace. En effet, nous pensons qu’il serait plus pertinent d’examiner la construction des savoirs sur les espaces coloniaux en privilégiant l’analyse de la circulation des concepts, des méthodes, des modes de description et d’explication, circulation induite par le déplacement des producteurs (voyages, missions, mutations professionnelles) et par leurs réseaux de relations informels ou institutionnels.

Dans le cadre d’une recherche s’étendant sur 4 ans, il nous a semblé raisonnable de travailler sur l’Afrique française, en mettant l’accent sur les savoirs concernant les limites et les régions à différentes échelles. Les questions qui nous guident sont les suivantes : comment ont été construits, diffusés, modifiés les savoirs sur les délimitations des " grands espaces " (continent, aire culturelle, région bio-climatique) ? Comment sont tracées les limites entre Europe et Afrique, entre " Afrique blanche " et " Afrique noire ", entre steppe et désert, forêt et savane ? Comment sont élaborés les savoirs géographiques sur les délimitations à l’échelon local (carte des tribus, atlas des terroirs, reconnaissance des isolats, étude des fronts pionniers de la colonisation), sur les " genres de vie ", et notamment les distinctions entre nomades et sédentaires, ruraux et urbains ? Comment ces savoirs ont-ils interféré avec la construction des découpages militaires et civils des territoires, avec les discours sur la continuité territoriale et l’unité de l’Afrique française ? Ont-ils rendu compte des mutations socio-spatiales engendrées par la colonisation ?

A partir d’un corpus diversifié, comprenant des productions de géographes (ouvrages, articles, atlas, mémoires et archives personnelles), des archives militaires et des récits de campagne, des cartes et des images des espaces colonisés, des revues savantes, guides touristiques, manuels scolaires, nous souhaitons mettre en commun nos approches et nos méthodes d’analyse textuelles et iconographiques pour répondre à ces questions. Plusieurs étapes dans la recherche et sa valorisation sont prévues : dépouillement de corpus, présentation de dossiers lors du séminaire interne autour de problématiques communes. Par ailleurs, il nous semble indispensable d’inscrire ce projet sur l’Afrique française dans un cadre international, en confrontant nos résultats à ceux de chercheurs étrangers, travaillant notamment sur d’autres empires, que nous prévoyons d’inviter à notre séminaire mensuel, puis pour une journée d’études et enfin, à l’occasion de l’organisation d’un colloque international.

Date de mise à jour : 8 juin 2017

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, Tous droits réservés