Menu | Content | Back | News | Progression | Search | Foot page | Accessibility | Site map | Home page


                      
                      
Home « Research « Programs « Agence Nationale de la Recherche « HANC : Healthy Aging and Networks in Cities

ANR

HANC : Healthy Aging and Networks in Cities

Period: 2016 - 2018

The way people are connected to each other and the way our cities are built have both been shown to influence healthy aging. Yet, we do not understand exactly how built environments, daily mobility, and social networks either favour or hinder healthy aging. But novel wearable sensor devices including Global Positioning System receivers or accelerometers make it possible to gather precise information on people’s daily mobility and physical activity. Combining such data with detailed questionnaires documenting social networks opens new ways to better understand inequalities of healthy aging.

From survey carried out in the Paris metropolitan area, we plan to identify (using statistical methods and graph theory) which features of the built environment and what characteristics of one’s social network influence healthy aging, active mobility and well-being.

This project will help provide tangible recommendations to improve urban planning and public health strategies.

Coordination : Cédric Sueur (Institut Pluridisciplinaire Hubert Curien), Basile Chaix (Institut Pierre Louis de Santé Publique), Julie Vallée (Géographie-cites), Yan Kestens (Ecole de Santé publique de l’Université de Montréal) and Philippe Gerber (Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research- LISER).

Updated on : 16 October 2018

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, All rights reserved

Menu | Contenu | Retour | Actualités | Progression | Rechercher | Pied de page | Accessibilité | Plan du site | Accueil


                      
                      
Accueil « Recherche « Programmes scientifiques « Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR) « HANC : Healthy Aging and Networks in Cities

HANC : Healthy Aging and Networks in Cities

Durée : 2016 - 2018

La façon dont les personnes sont connectées entre elles et dont nos villes sont construites influencent fortement la santé, particulièrement son évolution avec l’âge. Cependant, nous ne connaissons pas encore exactement comment l’urbanisation, la mobilité ou le réseau social favorisent ou entravent cette santé. De nouveaux détecteurs portables tels que les GPS ou les accéléromètres permettent toutefois d’enregistrer des données précises et multiples sur la mobilité et l’activité des personnes. Combiner une telle méthodologie avec des mesures des réseaux sociaux ouvrent de nouvelles voies pour mieux comprendre les inégalités de la santé des personnes âgées.

A partir d’une enquête menée dans l’agglomération parisienne, il s’agira d’identifier (avec des méthodes statistiques et de théorie des graphes) quelles propriétés de l’environnement urbain et du réseau social influencent le bien-être et l’activité des personnes âgées. Ce projet aidera à fournir des recommandations concrètes pour améliorer les plans d’urbanisation et les stratégies de santé publique.

Direction : Cédric Sueur (Institut Pluridisciplinaire Hubert Curien), Basile Chaix (Institut Pierre Louis de Santé Publique), Julie Vallée (Géographie-cités), Yan Kestens (École de Santé publique de l’Université de Montréal) et Philippe Gerber (Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research- LISER).

Date de mise à jour : 14 décembre 2015

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, Tous droits réservés