Menu | Content | Back | News | Progression | Search | Foot page | Accessibility | Site map | Home page


                      
                      
Decrease font size Increase font size Print page
Read also
Home « Publications « Books « Maritime Networks - Spatial structures and time dynamics

C.DUCRUET

Maritime Networks - Spatial structures and time dynamics

Routledge Studies in Transport Analysis, 2015

Maritime transport is one of the most ancient supports to human interactions across history and it still supports more than 90% of world trade volumes today. The changing connectivity of maritime networks is of crucial importance to port, transport, and economic development and planning. The way ports, terminals, but also cities, regions and countries, are connected with each other through maritime flows is not well-known and difficult to represent and measure, even for the transport actors themselves. There is a strong, urgent need for reviewing the relevant theories, concepts, methods, and sources that can be mobilized for the analysis of maritime networks.

With contributions from reputable scholars from all over the world, this book investigates the analysis of maritime flows and networks from diverse disciplinary angles going across archaeology, history, geography, regional science, economics, mathematics, physics, and computer sciences. Based on a vast array of methods, such as Geographical Information Systems (GIS), spatial analysis, complex networks, modelling, and simulation, it addresses several crucial issues related with port hierarchy; route density; modal interdependency; network robustness and vulnerability; traffic concentration and seasonality; technological change and urban/regional economic development. This book examines new evidence about how socio-economic trends are reflected (but also influenced) by maritime flows and networks, and about the way this knowledge can support and enhance decision-making in relation to the development of ports, supply chains, and transport networks in general.

This book is an ideal companion to anyone interested in the network analysis of transport systems and economic systems in general, as well as the effective ways to analyse large datasets to answer complex issues in transportation and socio-economic development.

View online : Voir

Updated on : 28 September 2015

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, All rights reserved

Menu | Contenu | Retour | Actualités | Progression | Rechercher | Pied de page | Accessibilité | Plan du site | Accueil


                      
                      
Diminuer la taille des caractères Augmenter la taille des caractères Imprimer la page
Lire aussi
Accueil « Publications « Ouvrages « Maritime Networks - Spatial structures and time dynamics

C.DUCRUET

Maritime Networks - Spatial structures and time dynamics

Routledge Studies in Transport Analysis, 2015

Le transport maritime constitue l’un des plus anciens vecteurs d’interaction et continue de faire circuler plus de 90% du commerce mondial de nos jours. La connectivité changeante des réseaux maritimes revêt une importance cruciale pour le développement portuaire et économique en général. Or la façon dont ports, terminaux, mais aussi villes, régions et pays sont connectés les uns aux autres par voie maritime n’est pas bien connu et reste difficile à mesurer et visualiser, même pour les acteurs du transport. Il y a ainsi un besoin urgent de passer en revue les théories, concepts, méthodes et sources pertinents qui peuvent être mobilisés pour l’analyse des réseaux maritimes.

Avec des contributions de la part de chercheurs renommés du monde entier, cet ouvrage s’intéresse à l’analyse des flux et réseaux maritimes sous différents angles tels que l’archéologie, l’histoire, la géographie, la science régionale, l’économie, les mathématiques, la physique, et l’informatique. A partir d’un vaste panel de méthodes, comme les SIG, l’analyse spatiale, les réseaux complexes, la modélisation, et la simulation, il explore de nombreuses problématiques en termes de hiérarchie portuaire, densité des routes, interdépendance modale, robustesse et vulnérabilité du réseau, concentration et saisonnalité du trafic, changement technologique et développement urbain et régional. L’ouvrage examine en particulier comment les aspects socio-économiques sont reflétés par (mais aussi influencent) les flux et réseaux maritimes, et comment ces connaissances peuvent contribuer à une meilleure appréhension de la gestion des ports, des chaînes logistiques et des réseaux de transport en général.

Cet ouvrage est le compagnon idéal de toute personne intéressée par l’analyse réseau des systèmes de transport et économiques, ainsi que celle de grandes bases de données pour répondre aux enjeux complexes du développement socio-économique et des transports.

Voir en ligne : Voir

Date de mise à jour : 28 septembre 2015

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, Tous droits réservés