Menu | Content | Back | News | Progression | Search | Foot page | Accessibility | Site map | Home page


                      
                      
Home « Research « Transverse subject « Archives - Transverse subjects 2010-2013 « Europe, globalization, territorial cohesion

Europe, globalization, territorial cohesion

This cross-thematic is based on four research areas of the research team that proposes to examine the new regional organisations at European and World scales

European spatial planning : between economic competitiveness and territorial cohesion
The research are based on various geographical objects (cities, regions, states, …) and at various scales, but with a common focus on the contradiction between the objectives of competitiveness and cohesion. Regional policies, urban policies and demographic decline are particularly at stake in the research.

Visions and divisions of the World
European Union has not elaborated clear visions of its situation and potential role in a changing World and is therefore subject to the temptation of isolation behind closed borders. But Europe should better try to imagine a global role as part of a World Region. The problem is therefore to examine what are the possible divisions of the World according to various criteria.

Networks and actors of globalization
The concepts of Continuity/Contiguity that are implicit in the vision of Europe as one « continent » should be balanced by a more global approach based on actors of networks that can produce a world of edge and nodes (Global City) where the european territory is not taken for granted and should be conceptualized differently.

Geohistory of globalization
The contemporary globalization can not be understood without a long terme perspective on civilizations offered by the geohistorical approach. The objective here is to develop comparison through space and time in order to discover recurrent structures and models of spatial organization of societies.

Updated on : 14 April 2012

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, All rights reserved

Menu | Contenu | Retour | Actualités | Progression | Rechercher | Pied de page | Accessibilité | Plan du site | Accueil


                      
                      
Accueil « Recherche « Thématique transversale « Archives - Thématiques transversales 2010-2013 « Thématique 1. Europe, mondialisation, cohésion territoriale

Thématique 1. Europe, mondialisation, cohésion territoriale

Cette thématique transversale articule quatre orientations de recherche du laboratoire portant sur les recompositions régionales à l’échelle de l’Europe et du Monde, en insistant tout particulièrement sur l’émergence du fait européen.

L’Aménagement du territoire européen, entre compétitivité économique et cohésion territoriale
Les travaux portent sur des objets géographiques et des échelles variées mais ils ont en commun l’analyse des contradictions à la fois théoriques et politiques qu’engendre le binôme compétitivité économique/cohésion territoriale. Outre les politiques régionales et urbaines, la décroissance démographique en constitue une illustration privilégiée.

Visions et divisions du Monde
L’Union européenne peine à définir sa place dans un Monde en pleine transformation et semble tenter de se replier sur des frontières hermétiques. Pourtant, l’Europe doit se penser comme une région du Monde parmi d’autres, ce qui suppose de réfléchir aux découpages pertinents du monde actuel.

Réseaux et acteurs de la mondialisation
La logique de « continuité/contiguïté », sous-jacente à la vision de l’Europe comme « région du Monde », doit être contrebalancée par une approche plus globale fondée sur les réseaux et les acteurs qui peuvent dessiner un Monde de liens et de sommets (Global City), où la notion de territoire européen, n’existant pas a priori, doit être envisagée de façon radicalement différente.

Géohistoire de la mondialisation
La mondialisation contemporaine ne peut être comprise sans être replacée dans le temps long des civilisations, à travers une approche géohistorique de comparaison dans le temps et dans l’espace.

Date de mise à jour : 14 avril 2012

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, Tous droits réservés