Menu | Content | Back | News | Progression | Search | Foot page | Accessibility | Site map | Home page


                      
                      
Home « Research « Key themes « Archives - Themes 2010-2013 « The dynamics of networked cities: comparative analysis and modelling

The dynamics of networked cities: comparative analysis and modelling

By way of the networks that develop among them and are driven by them, cities contribute to organising space across the world. This is true on all scales, whether with respect to the lives of the inhabitants, the outcomes of the regional or national territories, or the political and economics systems of organisation arising from financial, cultural or information flows. Cities are never in a state of isolation, they evolve in interdependent manner. These complex systems are largely self-organising, but they are also oriented in their evolution by the dynamics of path-dependency (the historical chain of events). In this area of research, the PARIS team is working on an evolutive theory of the city system making it possible to explain the differences that are observed between the different city systems across the world, and also to suggest possible scenarios for future developments, to provide better understanding, and to anticipate trajectories for given cities.

The theoretical construction of this project is grounded in the observation and modelling of the dynamics of city systems in a “complex system” perspective by way of epistemological consideration of the different models, and interdisciplinary collaboration. This involves considerable work on spatial and temporal harmonisation of databases on cities, with a view to effecting historical comparisons across the globe. Interdependencies among cities arise from social interactions, in particular those that accompany changes in mobility patterns, and to study them enables better apprehension of the dynamics of flows, networks and hierarchical re-organisation. Using concrete examples, this approach thus casts light on the shift from the intra and extra-urban sphere towards interconnection between cities and city networks.

JPEG - 677.5 kb
Scale and Urban Systems

The dynamics of city systems, in a “complex system” perspective
The theory is constructed by confronting observations derived from comparative analyses with concepts and models brought in from more formalised sciences (mathematics, physics, computer sciences) and this in turn enriches a scientific approach to complex systems that also includes historical, social and spatial processes. This work leads on from work already conducted on simulating the evolution of city systems using multi-agent systems via the Eurosim and Simpop2 models, on scaling laws and their relationship with cycles of urban economy, and on models for urban growth that integrate spatial interactions, and models for analysing complex networks.

The spatial and temporal harmonisation of city databases with a view to historical comparisons across the world
The development of evolutionary urban theories requires definition of relevant and coherent urban entities to enable comparative analyses in time and space. Thus the construction of spatio-temporal urban databases is essential. Regions that are representative of the diversity of urban typologies across the world have been selected: Europe, South Africa, India and the USA. Data models are being constructed to develop and manage these databases that are multi-level, dynamic, and multi-sourced. A more specific aim is to explore recent urban data for Europe, in interaction with comparative analysis research and modelling.

JPEG - 278.4 kb
International Mobility within Europe

Flows, networks and hierarchical reorganisation
To compensate for the scarcity of empirical data on the interactions that reorganise city systems, surveys have been conducted on mobility patterns, and on the contribution of new mobility patterns to the networking of cities in Europe. In addition, work is ongoing on student mobility, and the research networks implicated in converging technologies (NBIC). The results should enable better interpretation of these phenomena in the framework of polycentric theory, already widely explored in earlier research.

The articulation between cities and city networks
A first image of the situation of a given city in an overall structure of urban hierarchies and specialisation is classically provided by multivariate analysis of numerous attributes of cities. The evolutionary theory sets out to complete this description by the description of spatio-temporal interactions between the outcome of a city and that of other cities, in the form of exchanges and flows within an integrated territory. The research concerns the relative position of French cities according to indicators for pollution and health. It also aims to capture functional reorganisation occurring in relation to changes in capital city in certain European countries, and more generally the way in which the internal morphology of cities articulates with the shape of the city system.

Updated on : 17 April 2014

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, All rights reserved

Menu | Contenu | Retour | Actualités | Progression | Rechercher | Pied de page | Accessibilité | Plan du site | Accueil


                      
                      
Accueil « Recherche « Axes de recherche « Archives - Les axes 2010-2013 « 2 - Dynamique des villes en réseau : analyse comparative et modélisation

2 - Dynamique des villes en réseau : analyse comparative et modélisation

Les villes contribuent, par les réseaux qui y prennent appui et qu’elles animent, à structurer l’espace mondial – à toutes les échelles – qu’il s’agisse de la vie des habitants, du devenir des territoires régionaux ou nationaux, ou encore des organisations politiques et économiques, via des flux financiers, culturels ou d’information. Les villes ne sont jamais isolées, elles évoluent de façon interdépendante. Ces systèmes complexes sont largement auto-organisés mais aussi guidés dans leur évolution par des dynamiques de path dependence (enchaînement historique). L’équipe PARIS développe une théorie évolutive des systèmes de villes qui permet d’expliquer les différences observées entre les réseaux urbains de diverses parties du monde, de proposer des scénarios d’évolution future, de mieux comprendre et anticiper les trajectoires de chaque ville.

La construction théorique s’appuie sur l’observation et la modélisation de la dynamique des systèmes de villes, dans une perspective de « systèmes complexes », grâce à une réflexion épistémologique sur les modèles et des collaborations interdisciplinaires. Elle suppose un important travail d’harmonisation spatiale et temporelle de bases de données sur les villes, dans une perspective de comparaison historique et mondiale. Les interdépendances urbaines sont produites par des interactions sociales, notamment celles qui accompagnent l’évolution des mobilités, et leur étude permet de mieux saisir les dynamiques des flux, réseaux et réorganisations hiérarchiques. Sur des exemples concrets, la démarche éclaire ainsi le passage entre les niveaux intra et interurbains, à l’articulation entre villes et réseaux de villes.

JPEG - 677.5 ko
Niveaux d’échelle et systèmes urbains

La dynamique des systèmes de villes, dans une perspective de « systèmes complexes »
La théorie se construit en confrontant les observations issues d’analyses comparatives à des concepts et des modèles transférés de sciences plus formalisées (mathématique, physique, informatique…), ce qui contribue en retour à enrichir une science des systèmes complexes incluant des processus historiques, sociaux et spatiaux. Ce thème prolonge des travaux portant sur la modélisation de l’évolution des systèmes de villes par les systèmes multi-agents Eurosim et Simpop2, sur les lois invariantes d’échelle et leurs relations avec les cycles de l’économie urbaine, ainsi que sur des modèles de croissance urbaine intégrant les interactions spatiales et des modèles d’analyse des réseaux complexes.

L’harmonisation spatiale et temporelle de bases de données sur les villes, dans une perspective de comparaison historique et mondiale
Le développement des théories urbaines évolutives suppose la définition d’entités urbaines pertinentes et cohérentes pour les analyses comparatives dans le temps et l’espace. La construction de bases de données urbaines spatio-temporelles est donc essentielle. Des régions représentatives de la diversité mondiale des typologies urbaines ont été sélectionnées : l’Europe, l’Afrique du sud, l’Inde et les Etats-Unis. Des modèles de données sont construits pour élaborer et gérer ces bases, multi-niveaux, dynamiques et multi-sources. Il s’agit d’explorer plus particulièrement les données urbaines récentes en Europe, en interaction avec des travaux d’analyse comparative et de modélisation.

JPEG - 278.4 ko
Les mobilités internationales en Europe

Flux, réseaux et réorganisations hiérarchiques
Pour pallier la rareté des données empiriques quant aux interactions qui réorganisent les systèmes de villes, des enquêtes sont menées sur les mobilités et sur la contribution de ces nouvelles formes de mobilité à la mise en réseau des villes européennes. En outre, des travaux sont conduits sur les mobilités étudiantes et sur les réseaux de recherche impliqués dans les technologies de pointe. Les résultats devraient permettre de consolider les interprétations dans le cadre des théories du polycentrisme déjà bien analysées dans des travaux antérieurs.

L’articulation entre villes et réseaux de villes
Une première image de la situation de chaque ville dans une structure d’ensemble des hiérarchies et des spécialisations urbaines est donnée classiquement par des analyses multivariées de nombreux attributs des villes. La théorie évolutive suppose de compléter cette description par celle des interactions spatio-temporelles entre le devenir d’une ville et celle des autres, sous forme d’échanges ou de flux, dans un territoire intégré. Les travaux portent sur la position relative des villes françaises d’après des indicateurs relatifs à la pollution et à la santé. Ils visent également les réorganisations fonctionnelles liées à des déplacements de capitale dans certains pays européens et plus généralement l’articulation entre la morphologie interne des villes et la forme des systèmes de villes.

Date de mise à jour : 17 avril 2014

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, Tous droits réservés