Menu | Content | Back | News | Progression | Search | Foot page | Accessibility | Site map | Home page


                      
                      
Home « Research « Key themes « Archives - Themes 2010-2013 « New spatio-temporal multi-actor and multi-scalar modelling processes

New spatio-temporal multi-actor and multi-scalar modelling processes

The heuristic power of modelling is that it tests different potential interpretations by confronting them with empirical observation in models. In geography, modelling makes it possible to test the driving function of interactions in the emergence and evolution of the spatial organisation of social phenomena. Well aware of the essential part to be played by models in interdisciplinary communication, the members of the PARIS team are very attentive to developments in practice in other disciplines, and they operate reasoned transfers of methods and concepts developed in the fields of physics and computing, and more widely in the sciences of complexity. The aim is to enrich knowledge about the functioning of city systems and metropolitan spaces. After developing SimPop, the first model to be formalised using multi-agent systems in geography, the team is now engaged in further conceptual and technological advances, developing efficient modelling platforms and diversifying applications. The objective of the present research is to construct methods for evaluating, validating and experimenting on these models. A further challenge is the identification of objects and relationships within the models, which entails a formalisation of the notions of the individual, settings, and more generally ontology.

The team forms a reference for tools for the analysis of spatial configurations. For instance, gravitational methods using a smoothing function according to potential have met with growing success (use by the European Environment Agency, the ESPON programme etc). Certain theoretical foundations of these methods have been further explored in order to analyse the relationship between forms and processes in cases where there is a change in scale. The question for research is the relationship between the social space and the geometric shape.

Evaluation, validation, experiment
Several models developed on the SimPop platform enable experimentation on various scales of time and space. In addition to systematic work on comparisons, the team are developing applications that specifically take account of several geographical levels (rather than just two as in the classic applications in multi-agent systems), and they are developing new methods of assessment and validation that are suited to the range of scales envisaged.

Individuals, settings, ontology
In the multi-agent models being developed, the task is to formalise the effects of setting and of processes that relate to the logics of action by private of public actors, social groups, or institutions, combined with environmental processes, on different time scales. Theoretical consideration of the various entities associated with these different processes, of their formal status in the models, and of relationships existing among them, leading on to the definition of ontologies, enables better integration of these multi-scalar and multi-actor effects into the models.

Social and geographical space in the potential models
The smoothing operation that simplifies the representation of geographical information by generating continuous spatial distributions can be broken down into a set of projections onto different spaces: the social space of mobile individuals in time-geography is for instance projected onto the political-administrative space of census data (territorial grid), and the “smoothing” function projects the data in spatially discontinuous manner onto a continuous geographical space, i.e. that of the “smoothed” map (for instance a map of population potential or income). The analysis of these successive filters enables the generation of hypotheses on the behaviour of the actors.

Updated on : 17 April 2014

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, All rights reserved

Menu | Contenu | Retour | Actualités | Progression | Rechercher | Pied de page | Accessibilité | Plan du site | Accueil


                      
                      
Accueil « Recherche « Axes de recherche « Archives - Les axes 2010-2013 « 3 - Nouvelles modélisations spatio-temporelles, multi-acteurs et multiscalaires

3 - Nouvelles modélisations spatio-temporelles, multi-acteurs et multiscalaires

Le pouvoir heuristique de la modélisation consiste à mettre à l’épreuve différentes interprétations possibles en les confrontant à des observations empiriques à travers des modèles. En géographie, elle permet de tester le rôle moteur des interactions dans l’émergence et l’évolution des organisations spatiales des faits sociaux. Conscients du rôle essentiel joué par les modèles dans la communication interdisciplinaire, les membres de l’équipe PARIS portent une grande attention à l’évolution des pratiques dans les autres disciplines et opèrent des transferts raisonnés de méthodes et de concepts développés dans les champs de la physique et de l’informatique, et plus largement dans la science des systèmes complexes. L’objectif est d’enrichir les connaissances sur le fonctionnement des systèmes de villes et des espaces métropolitains. Après avoir créé SimPop, le premier modèle formalisé par les systèmes multi-agents (SMA) en géographie, l’équipe s’engage dans de nouvelles avancées conceptuelles et techniques, en développant des plateformes de modélisation efficaces et en diversifiant les applications. L’objectif des recherches actuelles est de construire des méthodes pour l’évaluation, la validation et l’expérimentation des modèles. Un autre défi est celui de l’identification des objets et des relations dans les modèles, ce qui implique une formalisation des notions d’individus, de contextes et plus généralement d’ontologies.

L’équipe reste un lieu de référence pour les outils d’analyse des configurations spatiales. Par exemple, des modèles gravitaires employant une méthode de lissage par potentiel connaissent un succès croissant (utilisations par l’Agence Européenne de l’Environnement, le programme ESPON, etc.). Certaines bases théoriques de ces méthodes sont aujourd’hui approfondies pour analyser les relations entre formes et processus lors des changements d’échelle. La question posée à la recherche est celle de l’articulation entre espace social et espace géométrique.

Evaluation, validation, expérimentation
Plusieurs modèles développés sous la plate-forme SIMPOP2 permettent l’expérimentation à des échelles de temps et d’espace variées. Outre les travaux de comparaison systématique, les membres de l’équipe développent des applications prenant en compte explicitement plusieurs niveaux géographiques (et pas seulement deux comme dans les applications classiques en systèmes multi-agents) et mettent au point des méthodes innovantes de validation/évaluation adaptées à la multiplicité des échelles considérées.

Individus, contextes, ontologies
Dans les modèles multi-agents en cours d’élaboration, il s’agit de formaliser des effets de contexte et de processus relevant de logiques d’action, d’acteurs publics ou privés, de groupes sociaux, d’institutions combinés à des processus environnementaux d’échelles temporelles diverses. Une réflexion théorique sur les entités associées à ces différents processus, sur leur statut formel dans les modèles, et sur les relations qui les lient, conduisant à la définition d’ontologies, permet de mieux intégrer ces effets multi-échelles et multi-acteurs dans les modèles.

Espace social et espace géométrique dans les modèles de potentiel
L’opération de lissage qui simplifie la représentation d’une information géographique sous forme de plages continues peut être décomposée comme une suite de projections dans des espaces différents : l’espace social des individus mobiles de la time-geography est par exemple projeté dans l’espace politico-administratif du recensement (les mailles territoriales), puis le lissage projette ces données spatialement discontinues dans un espace géométrique continu qui est celui de la carte lissée (par exemple une carte de potentiel de population ou de revenu). L’analyse de ces filtres successifs conduit à proposer des hypothèses sur le comportement des acteurs.

Date de mise à jour : 17 avril 2014

 
 

Géographie-cités 2011, Tous droits réservés